Skip to main content

You are here

ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries

All credentialed actuarial members of ASPPA are members of the ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA).  ACOPA is responsible for identifying and addressing the professional development needs of the actuarial membership of ASPPA, including maintaining the actuaries-only Google Group, and offering conferences focused primarily on the needs of actuarial members. ACOPA members serve as representatives on other ASPPA committees and subcommittees to enhance the actuarial content of ASPPA’s current programs and to provide an actuarial perspective to ASPPA’s future planning. ACOPA has primary responsibility for the content of comment letters that involve actuarial issues, accomplished through appointing members of the Defined Benefit Subcommittee of ASPPA’s Government Affairs Committee, and preparing formal comments, position papers, or other relevant pronouncements that involve regulating authorities outside of Treasury, IRS, DOL, PBGC or SEC (such as FASB).  ACOPA recommends ASPPA and ACOPA representatives to various intersocietal groups, and oversees the activities of the various intersocietal committees in which ASPPA has representation.

Intersector Group

The Intersector Group is composed of two delegates from each of the following actuarial organizations: American Academy of Actuaries, Society of Actuaries, Conference of Consulting Actuaries, and ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries. Twice a year the Intersector Group meets with representatives of the Treasury Department and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the PBGC to dialogue with them on regulatory and other issues affecting pension practice.  The group's meeting notes below cannot be relied on by any person for any purpose - they are simply the Group's notes.

Treasury/IRS Meeting Notes

PBGC Meeting Notes



Edward E. Burrows Distinguished Achievement Award

The Edward E. Burrows Distinguished Achievement Award is presented annually to a pension actuary who has, by his or her actions, set an example for other pension actuaries.

Learn more about the Award