Skip to main content

You are here

Burrows Call for Papers

 In honor of Ed Burrows’ contribution to the advancement of the general understanding of pension knowledge, an annual honorary payment of $2,000 is awarded for the best paper submitted on a topic selected by the Ed Burrows Award Committee. The winning submission will be the paper that in the committee’s judgment both adheres to that year’s topic, and best advances the understanding of the national retirement system. Any person (or group of people) who submits an article is eligible for consideration (other than individuals on the committee, on the leadership councils of ACOPA or ASPPA, or on the Board of Directors of the American Retirement Association).  All ASPPA members are encouraged to participate in submitting articles, but participation is not limited to ASPPA members. 

Check back in May 2019 for the next topic!


2016 Topic: Lifetime Income in the Small Plan Marketplace

With the shift away from traditional monthly benefit defined benefit plans to 401(k) plans and cash balance plans, many of today’s retirees are relying solely on Social Security to provide lifetime monthly income. Many in our industry are asking what changes should be made to employer sponsored retirement system to better provide a source of lifetime income for participants, while still allowing for participants to receive all or part of their benefit in the form of a lump sum. In the small plan market, the challenges of providing lifetime income are even greater.  What other options are currently available? Would a small plan “distribution marketplace”, “annuity exchange” or other pooled arrangements that doesn’t currently exist be helpful to small employers?  What would such an arrangement look like?

Winner: “Lifetime Income Solutions for DC Plans: Survival Sharing” by Bruno Caron, FSA, MAAA and Colin Devine, CFA, CPA


Winner will receive a $2,000 honorary payment and will have an opportunity for publishing and conference presentation.  If the Committee does not receive at least three entries, the Committee reserves the right to hold those papers until the next call for papers is made.