Member, Society of Pension Actuaries (MSPA)

Credential Overview

The Member, Society of Pension Actuaries (MSPA) program was created for individuals providing defined benefit or actuarial consulting who are currently Enrolled Actuaries in good standing.

Credential Requirements

Applicants successfully completing the three examinations required for Enrolled Actuary status [A-1 (EA-1), A-2 (EA-2A) and A-3 (EA-2B)] who have been approved for Enrolled Actuary status by the Joint Board for Enrollment of Actuaries may apply for the MSPA credential. No additional ASPPA examinations are required for the MSPA credential.  

The Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries (JBEA) administers two actuarial examinations, EA-1 and the EA-2 (Segment A or EA-2A and Segment B or EA-2B) that must be successfully completed by individuals to satisfy the actuarial knowledge requirement for the designation of Enrolled Actuary. These examinations are co-sponsored by ASPPA, the Society of Actuaries and the Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries. Applications for the EA-1, EA-2A and EA-2B examinations may be obtained from the Society of Actuaries, visit For more information on the Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries examinations, publications, study tips, etc. please click here

Apply for Credential 

Applying for ASPPA credentialed membership requires submission of the appropriate form. For more information about ASPPA membership please click here

Credential Continuing Education Requirements 

FSPA and MSPA members who satisfy the JBEA CE requirements are deemed to satisfy ASPPA CE requirements. For more information click here.