ACOPA Leadership

 ACOPA President  Kurt F. Piper

Kurt F. Piper, M.A.A.A., A.S.A., F.S.P.A. graduated from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1976 with a degree in Mathematics and Rhetoric, and is a Member of the American Academy of Actuaries (AAA), an Associate of the Society of Actuaries (SOA), a Fellow of the ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA), and an Enrolled Actuary. He is a past President of the Los Angeles Actuarial Club and has spoken before meetings of the American Academy of Actuaries, the Society of Actuaries, the American Society of Pension Professionals and Actuaries, the National Institute of Pension Administrators, and other organizations. In September 1990 he testified before a Treasury Department committee with respect to proposed regulations under IRC Section 401(a)(4) (non-discrimination) and has submitted written comments on various Treasury and IRS proposed regulations and other projects including comments on regulations under Code section 415 (maximum benefits and contributions) and phased retirement regulations.

 Other Officers: 
  President - Elect Bill Karbon, MSPA, CPC, QPA
  Executive Vice President John Markley, FSPA
  Vice President Richard Kutikoff, MSPA
  Secretary Tom Munson, MSPA
  Budget Officer Drew Forgrave, MSPA
  Past President Karen Smith, MSPA
  Penultimate Past President Lynn Young, MSPA

The President, President-elect, Executive Vice President and, for two years following the end of his or her term, the Past President, are voting members of the Leadership Council. Other officers are non-voting members.

Other Leadership Council Members:
Voting members (year term expires):


Raymond Berry, MSPA (2019)
Justin Bonestroo, MSPA (2017) 
Sara DeFillipo, MSPA (2019)  
Eugene Joseph, MSPA (2019)  
David Lipkin, MSPA (2017)   
Lauren Okum, MSPA, (2018)   
Stephen R. Parks, MSPA (2017)  
Alan Stone, MSPA (2018)  
Ken Vollmer, MSPA (2018)


Non-voting members:
Judy Miller, MSPA, ACOPA Executive Director
Joseph Nichols, MSPA, Consulting Actuary

Executive Committee:

The President, President-elect, Executive Vice President, Vice President(s), Secretary, Budget Officer and most recent Past President are voting members of the Executive Committee, which is responsible for day-to-day operations of ACOPA. 

For more information on the operation of ACOPA see the Final Agreement and the Operating Principles.

ACOPA's President and President-elect serve on the North American Actuarial Council (NAAC).  For additional information, see the most recent NAAC Annual Report